On This Day In 1979, ELO Lost The Orchestra, Found The Disco On 'Discovery'

Released on this day in 1979, Discovery is the eighth studio album by the Electric Light Orchestra. Nicknamed "Disco Very" by band member Richard Tandy, the album was a departure from the band's trademark string-orchestral sound, and instead embraced the disco craze of the late 1970's. Discovery was also the first ELO album not to feature their resident string trio of Mik Kaminski, Hugh McDowell, and Melvin Gale. The band's lineup was trimmed to a quartet featuring singer/guitarist Jeff Lynne, drummer Bev Bevan, keyboardist Richard Tandy and bassist Kelly Groucutt. It would prove successful, as the album contained FIVE hits, including "Shine A Little Love", "Don't Bring Me Down", "Last Train To London", "Confusion", and "The Diary of Horace Wimp." which helped give ELO their first number 1 album in the UK, entering the chart at that position and staying there for five weeks.

In honor of the album's 40th Anniversary, scroll down to check out the videos for all FIVE of the singles



Content Goes Here