Released 25 Years Ago Today, R.E.M. Announces #Monster25 Box Set


Released on this day in 1994, Monster is the 9th studio album by R.E.M. To celebrate, earlier this month the band announced the 25th anniversary reissue of their acclaimed ninth album, Monster. Remastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound, the album will be available on various physical formats, as well as digitally, on November 1. A five-CD, one-Blu-ray deluxe box set will include the original album, a special 2019 remix from Monster producer Scott Litt, a CD of previously unreleased demos from the album and a complete live 1995 performance captured in Chicago. The accompanying Blu-ray will offer Monster in both hi-resolution audio and 5.1 Surround Sound, as well as a host of video content: the 90-minute film Road Movie, which documents R.E.M.’s 1995 tour, and all six music videos from Monster

The collection will be packaged in a five-and-a-half-inch portfolio book, featuring liner notes by journalist Matthew Perpetua—with new insight from band members—and archival photographs. An expanded edition of Monster, offering the original album and the 2019 remixed version, will also be available on two 180-gram vinyl LPs or two CDs, both featuring alternate cover art originally created 25 years ago by longtime R.E.M. designer Chris Bilheimer. The remastered album will also be available as a standalone 180-gram vinyl LP, with Bilheimer’s original Monster art.

Digital editions of the album will mirror the complete deluxe audio content—remasteredremixed and live— available across all streaming and download platforms. Digital breakouts will also offer the remastered and remixed album in hi-resolution (88.1/24). 

An advance single release of “What’s The Frequency, Kenneth? (Remix)” (above) is available to stream or download today: listen and pre-save the album here. In this remix, original Monster producer Scott Litt offers a completely fresh take on the song, giving fans a new way to experience the single that launched Monster around its original release.

You can pre-order #Monster25 as a Deluxe Box Set, on CD or LP here.

Read the entire press release with various tracklists as well as more details in the coming weeks at



Disc 1 (CD) – Monster (Remastered)

1.     What’s The Frequency, Kenneth? 

2.     Crush With Eyeliner 

3.     King Of Comedy 

4.     I Don’t Sleep, I Dream 

5.     Star 69 

6.     Strange Currencies 

7.     Tongue 

8.     Bang And Blame 

9.     I Took Your Name 

10.  Let Me In 

11.  Circus Envy 

12.  You    

Disc 2 (CD) – Monster (Demos)

1.     Pete’s Hit  

2.     Uptempo Mo Distortion  

3.     Uptempo Ricky  

4.     Harlan County with Whistling 

5.     Lost Song 

6.     AM Boo 

7.     Mike’s Gtr 

8.     Sputnik 1 Remix 

9.     Black Sky 4-14  

10.  Revolution 4-21 

11.  Rocker with vocal 

12.  Time Is On Mike’s Side 

13.  1Experiment 4-28 no vocal 

14.  Highland Fling 4-29 

15.  Cranky 4-29   

Disc 3 (CD) – Monster (Remixed) 

1.     What’s The Frequency, Kenneth? (Remix) 

2.     Crush With Eyeliner (Remix) 

3.     King Of Comedy (Remix) \

4.     I Don’t Sleep, I Dream (Remix) 

5.     Star 69 (Remix) 

6.     Strange Currencies (Remix) 

7.     Tongue (Remix) 

8.     Bang And Blame (Remix) 

9.     I Took Your Name (Remix) 

10.  Let Me In (Remix) 

11.  Circus Envy (Remix) 

12.  You (Remix)   

Disc 4 (CD) – Live in Chicago 6/3/95 – Monster 1995 Tour (Part One)

1.     What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?

2.     Circus Envy 

3.     Crush With Eyeliner 

4.     Near Wild Heaven 

5.     Welcome To The Occupation 

6.     Undertow 

7.     I Took Your Name 

8.     Strange Currencies 

9.     Me In Honey 

10.  Revolution 

11.  Tongue 

12.  Man On The Moon 

13.  Country Feedback 

14.  Monty Got A Raw Deal   

Disc 5 (CD) – Live in Chicago 6/3/95 – Monster 1995 Tour (Part Two)

1.     Losing My Religion 

2.     You 

3.     Departure 

4.     Orange Crush 

5.     Get Up 

6.     Star 69 

7.     Let Me In 

8.     Everybody Hurts 

9.     So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry) 

10.  Pop Song 89 

11.  Its The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)   

Disc 6 (Blu-ray

1.     Monster – 5.1 Surround Sound 

2.     Monster – Hi-Resolution Audio 

3.     Road Movie (concert film) 

4.     What’s The Frequency, Kenneth? (music video)

5.     Crush With Eyeliner (music video)

6.     Star 69 (music video)

7.     Strange Currencies (music video)

8.     Tongue (music video)

9.     Bang And Blame (music video)

Pre-order #Monster25as a Deluxe Box Set, on CD or LP here.


Content Goes Here