Released 25 Years Ago Today, Nirvana's 'MTV Unplugged'

Released on this day in 1994, MTV Unplugged in New York is a live album by Nirvana. It features an acoustic performance recorded at Sony Music Studios in New York City nearly a year prior, on November 18, 1993, for the television series MTV Unplugged. It was the first Nirvana album released after Kurt Cobain's death, and would debut at number one on the Billboard 200 Album Chart. It has sold more than 10 million copies worldwide. Happy 25th Anniversary!


As previously reported, the classic Nirvana MTV Unplugged in New York album received a 25th Anniversary reissue on vinyl. Released today, the double-LP features five rehearsal performances previously available only on DVD. You can watch the rehearsal footage of "The Man Who Sold The World" above. you can order it here. Check out the track listing, below.

MTV Unplugged in New York (25th Anniversary Edition):

01 About a Girl

02 Come As You Are

03 Jesus Doesn't Want Me For a Sunbeam

04 The Man Who Sold the World

05 Pennyroyal Tea

06 Dumb

07 Polly

08 On a Plain

09 Something in the Way

10 Plateau

11 Oh Me

12 Lake of Fire

13 All Apologies

14 Where Did You Sleep Last Night?

15 Come As You Are (Rehearsal)

16 Polly (Rehearsal)

17 Plateau (Rehearsal)

18 Pennyroyal Tea (Rehearsal)

19 The Man Who Sold the World (Rehearsal)


Content Goes Here