On This Day In 1969 The Beatles Released The Yellow Submarine Soundtrack

Released in the U.S. on this day in 1969, Yellow Submarine is the tenth Studio album by The Beatles. It was issued as the soundtrack to the animated movie which premiered in London in July 1968. The project was regarded as a contractual obligation, as the band was asked to supply four new songs for the film. Some songs were written and recorded specifically for the soundtrack, while others were unreleased tracks from other projects. The album contains six songs by the Beatles, including four new songs "Only a Northern Song", "All Together Now", "Hey Bulldog", And "It's All Too Much" along with the previously released "Yellow Submarine" and "All You Need Is Love". The remainder of the album is a re-recording of the film's orchestral soundtrack by the band's producer, George Martin.

Happy 51st Anniversary!

Lone Star 92.5 · Classic rock for Dallas / Fort Worth

Listen Now on iHeartRadio