The state of Texas is moving towards making you less of a criminal for carrying small amounts of marijuana. It'll still cost you but at least you won't go to jail.
The House Criminal Jurisprudence committee just approved a bill that would make possession of up to an ounce of pot punishable by a fine of up to $250 instead of a criminal charge. You couldn't be arrested just for possession of a small amount of weed.
If you get busted a third time the fine would increase to $500, and become a Class C misdemeanor.
While all that sounds good, the bill still has an uphill climb.
The Texas House still has to vote, and Republican Governor Greg Abbott has already made it pretty clear he won’t legalize marijuana for recreational or medicinal while he’s in office.
Do you agree with the Governor?