41 Years Ago Today Van Halen Unleashed Their Debut Album

Released on this day in 1978,  Van Halen is the debut studio album Van Halen . The album contains many of Van Halen's signature songs, including "Runnin' with the Devil," the guitar solo "Eruption," The Kinks cover "You Really Got Me," "Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love," "Jamie's Cryin'," and the cover version of John Brim's "Ice Cream Man." The album was recorded in only three weeks and on a meager $54,000 budget

Since its release, the album has gone on to sell more than ten million copies in the United States alone. It has been certified Diamond by the RIAA. In honor of its 41st Anniversary, listen to album in its entirety, and then check out David Lee Roth's isolated vocals from "Runnin' with the Devil" below.

Jeff K

Jeff K

Want to know more about Jeff K? Get their official bio, social pages and articles on Lone Star 92.5! Read more


Content Goes Here